It all started in March……….

Yip it all started in March this year 2015 with one early morning look on Facebook.  My local town Dufftown was having a small craft fair in May.  I thought you know what rather than talking about wanting to do something I am going to get on and do it!  I had been talking and talking about it for years going back and forth……..but time to crack on with my own creative adventure.

Now I had to decide what to do?  I had studied Textiles at Grays school of Art years ago but hadn’t really enjoyed the three main processes they had taught in the degree – screen printing, knitting and weaving.  I love pattern and colours but also love the freedom of painting.  I read an article on the internet about painting on silk and its similarities to painting with water colours and I thought WOW Love love love!!!!

Bought some silk and dyes and have loved it ever since.  I created small abstract colourful samples.

DSCF0585Burn of Milk

I made these into small cushions 30cm x 30cm.  I grew confidence and started on my silk scarves.

burn of milkburn of milkburn of milk

The three different styles I created for the fair – abstract flowers, tartan and a sunburst abstract design. I started experimenting with the silk with different resists, wetting the silk and also quick drying with the hairdryer to create different patterns and textures.

So going back to that craft fair in May which started the my whole creative journey……..it went really well for a first timer like me! Not that I made lots of money but getting out to showcase my craft and speak to fellow crafter’s was the success.

burnofmilkburn of milk

You may notice there is some candles on my stall……..yip I make candles too but that’s a story for another time!!!!

Burn of Milkxxxxx

Leave a Reply

